Snarky Puppy - Family Dinner Volume 1

review this product Rating 0 no reviews. be the first to write one!

On March 8th, 2013, Snarky Puppy and a host of special guests convened at the Jefferson Center in Roanoke VA. The dream, envisioned by Michael League, was to record a series of live performances in audio and video that would bring attention and benefit to the ongoing work of the center. The Jefferson Center is a non-profit arts center that is revitalizing a key neighborhood in Roanoke with the restoration of Jefferson High Schooland the renovation of the Shaftman Performance Hall. the hal;l brings world class music to the local community through the Music Lab, providing education and recording space for local children.

As Snarky Puppy set up to record yet another live recording with the audience on the stage, special guests with an interest in supporting the project arrived. Lalah Hathaway, N'Dambi, Lucy Woodward, and Chantae Cann joined Malika Tirolien, Magda Giannikou, Shayna Steele and Tony Scherr in what was to become a legendary live session that celebrates the diversity and joy of live music. With the stunningly beautiful theater as a backdrop, the result is a masterpiece of Jazz, R&B, Gospel, and Blues music captured for the world to fully experience.

Snarky Puppy's Family Dinner will not only captivate, but will set a standard for future events and recordings. The concept of recording live with a limited audience intimately mixed with the artists is a testament to the creativity and positive energy of Snarky Puppy. Eight tracks appear on the CD, with additional tracks available on the DVD.

Track List (CD)

  • 1. Free Your Dreams (with Chantae Cann)
  • 2. Gone Under (with Shayna Steele)
  • 3. Deep (with N'Dambi)
  • 4. Amour t'es la (with Magda Giannikou)
  • 5. Something (with Lalah Hathaway)
  • 6. Too Hot To Last (with Lucy Woodward)
  • 7. Turned Away (with Tony Scherr)
  • 8. I'm Not The One (with Malika Tirolien)
  • DVD Bonus Tracks

  • Da Da'n Da (with Chantae Cann)
  • He Got Away (with Lucy Woodward)
  • Sew (with Malika Tirolien)
  • Only Love (with Judi Jackson)
  • I'll Do Me (with Jayna Brown)
  • Black Sheep (with Tony Scherr)
  • Asa Me No Bo (with Magda Giannikou)
    • 95 available

    No reviews

    Thank you for submitting your review. Your review is pending approval and will be published shortly.

    • $utilities.createrecaptcha("clean","highwire","highwire")
    Save My Review or Cancel Review